Individual Awards & Honours

  1. Life Members
  2. Distinguished Service Awards
  3. President's Trophy
  4. Club Champions (1sts Best & Fairests)
  5. Miscellaneous awards
  6. Australian Representatives

1. Life Members

Life membership of MUHC is a rare honour. It took nearly 70 years for our first life member, Fin McNab, to be elected - and that was only after he'd already been made a life member of both Hockey Australia and Hockey Victoria, and awarded an O.B.E. for services to sport!

The exact criteria for eligibility for life membership has varied over the years, but is currently set as 'having rendered outstanding service to the club for greater than ten years'. Election as a life member requires a special resolution at an AGM.

2. Distinguish Service Awards

DSAs are awarded by the Melbourne University Sports Association, for outstanding service to a University of Melbourne sports club, and/or MUSA. Clubs submit nominations to the Blues Advisory Board for consideration (this is the same body that determines the award of Blues each year).

3. President's Trophy

Awarded annually (chosen by the club's President) to the individual who has provided the most outstanding service to the club for that year ('volunteer of the year').

Year Winner
2016 Sarah Dennis
2015 Louise Lines
Davin Smith
2014 Tina Thorburn
2013 Emily Rosse
2012 Davin Smith
2011 Diana Dickinson
2010 James Stewart
2009 James Stewart
2008 Isobel Rogerson
2007 Tim Mattingsbrooke
2006 Garrick Rollason
2005 Jane Fitzherbert
2004 Chris Norton
2003 Andrew Cronin
2002 Han Quach
2001 Claire Brazenor
2000 Jemma Martin
1999 Tim Mattinsbrooke
1998 Bill Brazenor
1997 Mark Woodruff
1996 Antony Strong
1995 Isobel Rogerson
1994 Geoff Ward
1993 Neil Boyd-Clark
1992 Joanna Hale
1991 Bill Brazenor
1990 Stuart Westmore
1989 Joanna Hale
1988 André Auret


4. Club Champions

The Best & Fairest winners for our men's & women's 1sts, as voted by the players in those teams.

The women's club champion is awarded the Jessie A. Ferguson Perpetual Trophy.

Year Women Men
2016 Siobhan Moran Oscar Wookey
2015 Kate Wong Tim Luscombe
2014 Louise Lines Tim Luscombe
2013 Kate Wong Ewout Timmerman
2012 Kate Wong Matt Harris & Tim Brown
2011 Candice Liddy Paul Luscombe

If you have any information on winners prior to 2011, please contact the club.


5. Miscellaneous awards

University of Melbourne 'Coach of the Year'
University of Melbourne 'Club of the Year'

Site by Sturm